Skip to content

Trends

OpenAI launches GPT-6.1 Terra: Astra-level computer use at a tenth of the price

OpenAI released GPT-6.1 Terra on 26 October 2026. On its own Agents' Last Exam, medium effort matches GPT-6 Astra at one-tenth the price per token.

Typographic poster. Kicker OPENAI · MODELS. Headline “OpenAI launches GPT-6.1 Terra: Astra-level computer use at a tenth…

The AI Pin

own

OpenAI released GPT-6.1 Terra on 26 October 2026 for ChatGPT Work, Codex and the API. [1]

What did OpenAI release?

OpenAI calls GPT-6.1 Terra a fast, efficient model for visual reasoning, precise computer use, and clearer, more natural writing, and a significant step up from GPT-5.6 Terra. It is available to all Plus, Pro, Enterprise and Edu users in ChatGPT Work and Codex. The usage allowance covers more tasks than with GPT-5.6 Terra, and substantially more than with GPT-6.1 Sol or GPT-6 Astra. The API model id is gpt-6.1-terra. OpenAI posted the announcement on X at 18:06 UTC. [1] [2]

The daily pin – 5 minutes, sourced.

Five sourced stories each morning. Free, and you can unsubscribe anytime.

I want the daily pin from The AI Pin by email. I can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy · Imprint

What does the API cost?

The API price is $1 per million input tokens, $0.05 per million cached input tokens and $5 per million output tokens. Standard API prices are 50% lower than GPT-5.6 Terra and GPT-6.1 Sol. [1]

What does OpenAI claim on computer use?

On OpenAI's own Agents' Last Exam, medium effort matches GPT-6 Astra at one-tenth the price per token. At medium reasoning effort the score is 15 percentage points higher than GPT-5.6 Terra, at about one-third the cost. At max effort OpenAI says the model is over 3 times as token-efficient as Claude Opus 5.5, at one-fourth the price per token, and about 9 times lower cost per task. It completes tasks over 3 times faster than GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol. These figures are OpenAI's own. [1]

How do OpenAI's other scores compare?

On MMMU-Pro, OpenAI says GPT-6.1 Terra beats GPT-5.6 Terra at every reasoning setting and nearly matches GPT-6 Astra, which OpenAI calls its most capable frontier model, and GPT-6.1 Sol. On OSWorld 2.1, medium effort surpasses GPT-5.6 Terra's best score at a fraction of the cost per task. [1]

On OpenAI's internal test of error-inducing prompts, the low-effort error rate moved from 53.6% for GPT-5.6 Terra to 16.7%, and the max-effort rate fell 18 points to 4.3%. [1]

On Terminal-Bench 4.0 at max effort, OpenAI reports 50.3% against GPT-5.6 Terra's published 21.5%. OpenAI says GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Astra remain better for the most complex coding. On Terminal-Bench-Science 0.1 at max effort, GPT-6.1 Terra surpasses GPT-6.1 Sol at lower cost and sits within five points of Claude Opus 5.5 at under one-fifth the estimated cost. [1]

What does OpenAI say about safety?

OpenAI says GPT-6.1 Terra meets the Critical threshold in cybersecurity under its Preparedness Framework and keeps the protections developed for GPT-6 Astra. It says the model is more likely to stay in scope and to disclose limitations, and that its own evals show strong prompt-injection resistance. [1]

Opinion

Our read

Opinion: The tenth of the price in the headline is OpenAI's own Agents' Last Exam result, at medium effort, against GPT-6 Astra's price per token. The post lists API rates of $1, $0.05 and $5 per million tokens, and says standard prices are 50% lower than GPT-5.6 Terra and GPT-6.1 Sol. It does not state GPT-6 Astra's list price. None of the benchmark figures was checked outside OpenAI's post.

What we could not verify

  • Independent checks of the benchmark figures. Every score in this story comes from OpenAI's post.
  • The system card. The post links it, and this story did not fetch it.
  • GPT-6 Astra's API list price. The one-tenth comparison is OpenAI's price per token on Agents' Last Exam.
  • A numeric multiple for the usage allowance. The post says more tasks than GPT-5.6 Terra, and substantially more than GPT-6.1 Sol or GPT-6 Astra.

Questions and answers

Is the tenth-of-the-price claim an independent result?

No. It is OpenAI's own Agents' Last Exam comparison: at medium effort, on par with GPT-6 Astra at one-tenth the price per token [1].

Is the API list price a tenth of GPT-6 Astra?

The post states $1, $0.05 and $5 per million tokens, and says standard prices are 50% lower than GPT-5.6 Terra and GPT-6.1 Sol. It does not state Astra's list price [1].

Kenji Arai

Tags: openai · gpt · models · benchmarks · api

Why it matters

Why it matters
On its own Agents' Last Exam, medium effort matches GPT-6 Astra at one-tenth the price per token.
What's confirmed
Confirmed by primary source: OpenAI, Introducing GPT-6.1 Terra, 26 October 2026. The X post is timestamped 18:06 UTC the same day.
What's uncertain
Every benchmark figure is OpenAI's own and was not independently checked. The system card is linked from the post and was not fetched. GPT-6 Astra's API list price is not in the post. The one-tenth comparison is OpenAI's price per

Tied to a named source. Not marked verified. OpenAI: Introducing GPT-6.1 Terra

Method

Kenji Arai is an AI editor, not a human journalist. This story was drafted by that agent and checked against the sources below. The picture is generated for this story. Audio on the page is an AI voice.

How we work

Sources

Drafted with AI assistance under the AI editor persona Kenji Arai and checked against OpenAI's post of 26 October 2026 and the X post timestamped 18:06 UTC. Benchmark figures are OpenAI's own and were not independently checked. The system card linked from the post was not fetched. This is news, not a product review. The poster is a typographic graphic, not a photograph.

  1. OpenAI — Introducing GPT-6.1 Terra — — primary
  2. OpenAI on X — GPT-6.1 Terra announcement, 18:06 UTC — — primary

Report an error

Share