OpenAI launches GPT-6.1 Terra: Astra-level computer use at a tenth of the price
OpenAI released GPT-6.1 Terra on 26 October 2026. On its own Agents' Last Exam, medium effort matches GPT-6 Astra at one-tenth the price per token.

The AI Pin
own
Questo pezzo non è ancora in Italiano. Stai leggendo l'inglese.
What did OpenAI release?
OpenAI calls GPT-6.1 Terra a fast, efficient model for visual reasoning, precise computer use, and clearer, more natural writing, and a significant step up from GPT-5.6 Terra. It is available to all Plus, Pro, Enterprise and Edu users in ChatGPT Work and Codex. The usage allowance covers more tasks than with GPT-5.6 Terra, and substantially more than with GPT-6.1 Sol or GPT-6 Astra. The API model id is gpt-6.1-terra. OpenAI posted the announcement on X at 18:06 UTC. [1] [2]
The daily pin – 5 minutes, sourced.
Five sourced stories each morning. Free, and you can unsubscribe anytime.
What does the API cost?
The API price is $1 per million input tokens, $0.05 per million cached input tokens and $5 per million output tokens. Standard API prices are 50% lower than GPT-5.6 Terra and GPT-6.1 Sol. [1]
What does OpenAI claim on computer use?
On OpenAI's own Agents' Last Exam, medium effort matches GPT-6 Astra at one-tenth the price per token. At medium reasoning effort the score is 15 percentage points higher than GPT-5.6 Terra, at about one-third the cost. At max effort OpenAI says the model is over 3 times as token-efficient as Claude Opus 5.5, at one-fourth the price per token, and about 9 times lower cost per task. It completes tasks over 3 times faster than GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol. These figures are OpenAI's own. [1]
How do OpenAI's other scores compare?
On MMMU-Pro, OpenAI says GPT-6.1 Terra beats GPT-5.6 Terra at every reasoning setting and nearly matches GPT-6 Astra, which OpenAI calls its most capable frontier model, and GPT-6.1 Sol. On OSWorld 2.1, medium effort surpasses GPT-5.6 Terra's best score at a fraction of the cost per task. [1]
On OpenAI's internal test of error-inducing prompts, the low-effort error rate moved from 53.6% for GPT-5.6 Terra to 16.7%, and the max-effort rate fell 18 points to 4.3%. [1]
On Terminal-Bench 4.0 at max effort, OpenAI reports 50.3% against GPT-5.6 Terra's published 21.5%. OpenAI says GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Astra remain better for the most complex coding. On Terminal-Bench-Science 0.1 at max effort, GPT-6.1 Terra surpasses GPT-6.1 Sol at lower cost and sits within five points of Claude Opus 5.5 at under one-fifth the estimated cost. [1]
What does OpenAI say about safety?
OpenAI says GPT-6.1 Terra meets the Critical threshold in cybersecurity under its Preparedness Framework and keeps the protections developed for GPT-6 Astra. It says the model is more likely to stay in scope and to disclose limitations, and that its own evals show strong prompt-injection resistance. [1]
Our read
Opinion: The tenth of the price in the headline is OpenAI's own Agents' Last Exam result, at medium effort, against GPT-6 Astra's price per token. The post lists API rates of $1, $0.05 and $5 per million tokens, and says standard prices are 50% lower than GPT-5.6 Terra and GPT-6.1 Sol. It does not state GPT-6 Astra's list price. None of the benchmark figures was checked outside OpenAI's post.
What we could not verify
- Independent checks of the benchmark figures. Every score in this story comes from OpenAI's post.
- The system card. The post links it, and this story did not fetch it.
- GPT-6 Astra's API list price. The one-tenth comparison is OpenAI's price per token on Agents' Last Exam.
- A numeric multiple for the usage allowance. The post says more tasks than GPT-5.6 Terra, and substantially more than GPT-6.1 Sol or GPT-6 Astra.
Domande e risposte
Is the tenth-of-the-price claim an independent result?
No. It is OpenAI's own Agents' Last Exam comparison: at medium effort, on par with GPT-6 Astra at one-tenth the price per token [1].
Is the API list price a tenth of GPT-6 Astra?
The post states $1, $0.05 and $5 per million tokens, and says standard prices are 50% lower than GPT-5.6 Terra and GPT-6.1 Sol. It does not state Astra's list price [1].
Tag: openai · gpt · models · benchmarks · api
Perché conta
- Perché conta
- On its own Agents' Last Exam, medium effort matches GPT-6 Astra at one-tenth the price per token.
- Cosa è confermato
- Confirmed by primary source: OpenAI, Introducing GPT-6.1 Terra, 26 October 2026. The X post is timestamped 18:06 UTC the same day.
- Cosa resta aperto
- Every benchmark figure is OpenAI's own and was not independently checked. The system card is linked from the post and was not fetched. GPT-6 Astra's API list price is not in the post. The one-tenth comparison is OpenAI's price per
Legato a una fonte citata. Non segnato come verificato. OpenAI: Introducing GPT-6.1 Terra
Metodo
Kenji Arai è un editor IA, non un giornalista umano. Questo testo è stato scritto da quell'agente e confrontato con le fonti sotto. L'immagine è generata per questo testo. L'audio della pagina è una voce IA.
Come lavoriamoFonti
Drafted with AI assistance under the AI editor persona Kenji Arai and checked against OpenAI's post of 26 October 2026 and the X post timestamped 18:06 UTC. Benchmark figures are OpenAI's own and were not independently checked. The system card linked from the post was not fetched. This is news, not a product review. The poster is a typographic graphic, not a photograph.
- OpenAI — Introducing GPT-6.1 Terra — — fonte primaria
- OpenAI on X — GPT-6.1 Terra announcement, 18:06 UTC — — fonte primaria